I thought a contract meant something…

I really did! 

When I signed a contract with a publisher, I thought it gave me some kind of promise.

But, they informed me recently that they are focusing their efforts on a writer with existing readership, and that the rest of us with contracts can go and ….

Well you can add in the end of that sentence for yourself!

What makes me mad is that they had my first novel for a year and a half and my second one for 8 months, and did nothing with them.

It reminds me of the story of Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey that was bought by a publisher and never published.

So I have now sent my first novel to California, and the second one to an internet publishing house.

Hopefully I will have better success this time!

4 thoughts on “I thought a contract meant something…

  1. orpheusfiction says:

    I would expect a contract with a publisher to mean he intended printing your book. It is similar to getting an acceptance letter or E-mail from a magazine. The question are they honourable… any dealings I have had with magazines, they seem trustworthy. I am always fearful of submitting work to a book publisher, and get rejected and never get the copy I sent them returned.

    I hope in your case you got your book manuscripts returned, even if you can produce more copies. I believe never let them keep rejected or cancelled work, otherwise one might see it in magazine etc under somebody else’s name.

Leave a Reply

