Too busy to get published…

I have actually found a publisher who is interested in my science fiction novel…

I should be ecstatic.

Yes, they do require me to make some changes, and have sent me notes on how to improve it, with an offer to meet or Skype about the changes . A dream publisher…

So why am I not excited?

I have just started studying again. A wonderful opportunity in fact; my school is paying for me to complete a degree in teaching. The first set of assignments are due, so my limited free moments are taken up with essays on loss and goodbyes in Catcher in the Rye, and seventeenth century sonnets.

And the tertiary institution I am studying through (we shall not name names!) seems to have registered me for the incorrect Zulu modules. I am doing a course better suited to people who have a command of the language already. I, on the other hand, took a whole year to learn how to count from 1 to 10 in Zulu.

So the fact of the matter is that I have no time to get published. To work on my novel will be detrimental to my career and my means of living. I cannot take time away from studies to fulfill my lifelong dream.

I’m sure there must be a sonnet written about that somewhere!

2 thoughts on “Too busy to get published…

  1. helenmidgley says:

    Well done on the publishing offer, that’s fab. I know where your coming from regarding time though. I only did my Honors degree a few years ago, I was doing that along side a teaching degree, working in an office and teaching an FE class part-time. Was manic but somehow do-able. I’m sure you’ll sort it. Good luck šŸ™‚

    • Julianne Alcott says:

      Wow!!!
      You certainly had a lot on your plate then.
      I have a little girl as well, and don’t want to stop being her mummy because I have all this other important stuff to do. Thanks for your comment šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

