Nostalgia

See how many 80s and 90s song titles you can spot…

 

Nostalgia

 

Listening to the music 

I knew when I was a teen

Gives me a sweet nostalgia.

Listen, and you’ll see what I mean…

 

Come on join the Joyride, 

Sailing on the seven seas.

To La Isla Bonita,

Please leave the light on for me.

 

I hear there’s a circle in the sand, 

Down in Montego Bay

They built the city on rock ‘n roll

In Kingston Town they say.

 

Bryan Adams woke up the neighbours

With the Summer of ‘69

We can’t stop this thing we started

Please forgive me this time.

 

With legwarmers on, we’re dressed for success

We’ve got the look, it’s true

Roxette made us fade like a flower

And asked us, “How do you do?”

 

We did some Dirty Dancing

And we could always choose

Between the Power of Love by Jennifer Rush

Or Huey Lewis and the News.

 

I’m walking like an Egyptian

I’m footloose and fine

I’m dancing on the ceiling

I’m walking on sunshine

 

Have some ice, ice baby

In your red, red wine

Satisfy your hungry eyes

On a groovy kind of love we’ll dine

 

Get out of my dreams, and into my car

I’ll do it all for love indeed

Everything I do, I do for you

You’re all the man I need

 

I think we’re alone now, the heat is on

You take my breath away

You make heaven a place on Earth

Never gonna give you up – no way!

 

This is a cruel, cruel summer

A careless whisper tore us apart

Our eternal flame has died

You broke my achey breaky heart

 

I had the time of my life.

Didn’t we almost have it all

It must have been love, but it’s over now

I know who I’m gonna call

 

Mustang Sally, the flashdance queen

Cos girls just wanna have fun

Don’t turn around, you’re dangerous

Our tainted love is done.

 

I’ll always turn my stereo on

Each time the going gets tough

Cos it’s the final countdown

And I just can’t get enough

 

Music can make your heart be sad

And can take away the pain

I hope you enjoyed my crazy poem

As I walked down memory lane

 

3 thoughts on “Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

