The Strangest Cake I’ve ever heard of

They call it the “turducken of the pastry world”. A turducken, in case you don’t know is a chicken inside a duck inside a turkey. It’s definitely on my bucket list to cook; I’ll just need a bigger oven.

1280px-Turducken_quartered_cross-section

“Turducken quartered cross-section” by Christopher “Pacula” Corkum – Self-photographed. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons – http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Turducken_quartered_cross-section.jpg#/media/File:Turducken_quartered_cross-section.jpg

Last Easter weekend, I was house sitting a friend’s house. They had satellite TV and an amazing kitchen, so I spent the entire four days holiday watching cooking shows, and trying to cook up a storm.

My favourite programme was Diners, Drive Ins and Dives because they usually have real food, and not those weird gourmet meals of two green beans and a mushroom.

And that’s where I saw the strangest cake I’ve ever heard of… The Pumpple Cake from the Flying Monkey bakery in Philadelphia.

It’s a pumpkin pie inside a chocolate cake, and on top of that is an apple pie inside a vanilla cake. The two cakes with their pie fillings are iced together with butter cream. A slice is over 1000 calories.

lpumpplecake

I’ve been trying to find out the story behind the development of the cake, but I can’t  track it down.

This is something I would definitely love to try, but I’m not sure I’d be brave enough to try and bake it myself!

2 thoughts on “The Strangest Cake I’ve ever heard of

Leave a Reply

